cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
SamAdamsPaleAle
Advanced Driver

Why racing games matter

Why racing games matter

Here I sat in front of a TV in my basement. A 1964 Ferrari 250 GTO was flying down a stretch of Italian highway. A 79’ Trans Am was chasing it, all while The Clash was blasting from the radio. No, I wasn’t watching a vintage race with an unlikely battle, I was playing Forza Horizon 2, the video game that made me love cars. 

Racing games as a concept are nothing new. Even in the days of Pong and Asteroids, video game developers were trying to emulate the feeling of driving, with a varying degree of success. Pole Position, Out Run, Virtua Racing, all racing game classics. I’m of the unfortunate age where I wasn’t around to experience any of the classic racing games, but I was just old enough to play the original Forza Horizon. 

I’ve been playing racing games since I was six years old. Dunking on people in MarioKart Wii and DS, taking fools to gapplebees in Forza Motorsport 5, racing games are my bread and butter, aside from FPS games. So imagine the impact when 8 year old me experienced the first and second Forza Horizon games.

The concept for the Forza Horizon games are simple. You, the main character, are a part of this music festival/racing event. The goal- win a bunch of races and win the Festival. With over 100 cars of different varieties, the game has an addictive charm to it. Add in a functioning radio system with some solid songs, you have what I consider one of my favorite racing series. Actually, scratch that, one of my favorite video game series, only dethroned by the Halo franchise.