cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
SamAdamsPaleAle
Detailer

Just got a summer internship at a mechanics shop. What can I expect?

Hey everyone! A couple of hours ago, I got the news that I'm allowed to intern at this local mechanics shop. I'm going to be fixing and EV swapping this early 60s Corvair Rampside, as well as more or less being a shop rat for the owners collection of Porsches and other great stuff. However, other than my shortly lived McDonalds gig, I have very little work experience, and very little mechanical experience. What can I expect?

10 REPLIES 10
jonZ
Instructor

Expect to be treated as an intern/newbie. Expect to learn. Pick up on all the information you can get from the guys, gals there. From your past posts you are into the Corvair. This might be your chance to really learn about your passion. Put in the work, pay attention, and by all means respect the Boss. The boss usually don't care to much about your knowledge of the subject or your opinion, but cares more about your dedication to learn and show your talents, skills and respect. The gift of gab won't get you very far but the gift of listening and learning will go a long way. ( the old adage...seek first to understand and then to be understood.) A shop rat?? In some way we all are. Hang in there, good luck and congratulations on the new gig.

Sajeev
Community Manager

What can I expect?

Expect to learn a lot about what it takes to work on old cars, to work with people who often butt heads with each other, and what it takes to deal with irate customers that don't care about your problems and just want their car back. Or want to pay less for it. Or both...actually, usually both at the same time. 

Sounds like you are finally at the right place for the beginning of a career in automobiles...wherever that may take you in the future! 

DUB6
Instructor