cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cndauto
New Driver

I like the convetional vs. Synthetic oil conversation.

Manufacturers spend lots of money on engineering. Yes down to the proper lubricants and fluids. As a 4 th. Gen mechanic I recommend following manufacturers reccommendations. For all fluids. Your differential is probably the most overlooked of all fluids. Many manufacturers use vehicle specific fluids.

Spend the couple extra bucks and don't use universal fluids. I'm not an engineer but your auto manufacturer has plenty and they use materials that have specific lubrication requirements

4 REPLIES 4
hyperv6
Gearhead

Yes recommended fluids but you also have something else to consider. What year was the recommendation and what grade or classification replaced that product. 

Also is there a synthetic that is a direct replacement that has exceeded those previous grades and classification. 

The oil recommended for my 85 Pontiac is not the same today as the formulas have changed and there are some better options. 

I have a flat tappet cam and the 10w30 oil today is not the same and could damage the cam over time. I have gone to an oil Mobil recommends with greater Zinc and phosphates in the formula recommended for older flat tapper cams. 

There is more to consider today than just numbers give when the vehicle was new. 

JimR
Instructor

Agree with hyperv6.
Synthetic formulation has also changed a lot over the past few decades. What wasn’t appropriate in the 70’s, 80’s and 90’s is as good, and often better, than what manufacturers recommended in the owner’s manual...as long as it meets API specs and contains  any needed modifiers. 
Another consideration is availability. Most manuals recommend the manufacturer’s own brand, which usually costs a bit more and may not be as convenient as the local chain parts store. And that can lead to delaying or avoiding the fluid changes all together.