cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted

Re: Community Question: How much fun is it to pull a dashboard?

New Driver

I was an instructor at a post-secondary automotive repair vocational school. I used to tell my students "NEVER let a customer see their car with the dash removed. You will get blamed for everything that goes wrong with the car from that day forward, real or imagined. Mostly imagined."

Highlighted

Community Manager

Very few customers would have the understanding to know this is a pretty standard affair, so you are right, never let them see this.  Heck, depending on the customer, let them see as little as possible. 

Highlighted

New Driver

The ashtray lid was broken on my '02 Aston Martin DB7 Vantage. Can you just remove a couple of screws and replace it? Of course not. Firstly, they are NLA. Secondly, the center console has to come out to remove the ashtray assembly. And by the way, there are no instructions for disassembly in the profusely illustrated service manual and the nearest dealer is 7 hours away. Right. Armed with a box of bandaids and a pitcher of gin and tonic, I dove in. Haven't had this much fun since my last root canal.WP_20200428_15_35_02_Pro.jpg

Highlighted

New Driver

Bought a 2004 Dodge Ram pickup in "as is" condition. The car salesman showed me how everything worked including the heater. When I got it home I found out air only came out of the dash vents, and it would not select either the floor vents or the defroster vents.

With the aid of the shop manual, I was able to determine the plastic diverter door was broken inside the heater. I would have to remove the airbags, drop the steering wheel, remove the A pillar covers, remove the radio, remove the glovebox, drop the dashboard, then disassemble the heater. 

P4260087.JPG