Did you mean: 
JK
Intermediate Driver

1931 Packard Deluxe 8

1931 Packard Deluxe 8

An Article for Motor Trend Without the Expected Photograph

By Jeffrey P. Kennedy

photos courtesy of C. Mark Jordan

A couple of weeks ago a friend from college sent me some photos that he had taken that I never saw before.  It brought back long forgotten details and, with his encouragement, triggered that I should tell this story. 

This is about how an impertinent college student ends up with a 4-page feature article in Motor Trend magazine.  The year is 1977 and I am a student at Art Center College of Design in the Transportation Design program, or as we called it “draw cars”.  Through a friend at college I had become friends with the then Art Director of Motor Trend, Larry Crane.  This in turn led to frequent trips to the Petersen Publications building on Sunset Boulevard in Los Angeles to see him and others on the staff that I would become friendly with.

In those pre-computer days, the magazine was being created about 3 months in advance of it hitting the newsstands.  It was a manual operation of doing paste-ups for each page of the magazine grouped into printing sections that would be shipped to Petersen’s printing house somewhere in the Midwest.  Then there would be advance proof runs of these sections sent back to the magazine offices for review.  During one of my visits to Motor Trend, I saw one of these sections for an upcoming issue where their Retrospective article was on some pre-WWII car that I felt was unworthy of such a feature.  During all my sneering remarks I mentioned a classic Packard that would be far more worthy subject matter.  That led to a challenge to do an article of my own.  Being appropriately naïve, that was a challenge worth accepting.