cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Hagerty
Hagerty Employee

Who does what in car design? Our industry insider peels back the studio curtain

Hello there! My name is Adrian Clarke. I am a professional car designer, earning a degree in automotive design from Coventry University and a Masters in Vehicle Design from the Royal College of Art in London. While I was there, one of my tutors was J Mays. (He used to bring in doughnuts.)
https://www.hagerty.com/media/car-design/who-does-what-in-car-design-our-industry-insider-peels-back...
6 REPLIES 6
Reinhold_Weege
Instructor

When will you go into detail and explain driving the '79 T-bird through London? No one expects new vehicles to look any better than two-box, high H-point, pedestrian-safe aerodynamic transport pods; so you might as well talk about designs that were exciting and full of great detail.
AdrianClarke
Detailer

Hah! I was young and carefree, it was an impulse buy (it was cheap, around £1800 if I recall). It was a little rough around the edges, but it all worked (most importantly the hidden headlights!) and was mechanically sound. I have never been surrounded by so much crushed velour before or since. Was a total waft machine. No power (it was a 351 Windsor I think) but all the torque. And whitewalls. It also had a surprising turn of speed once it got going, as I found out one day when I was late for a flight and bombing up the motorway to the airport. I also found out it got a bit floaty at the front end once you got to about 90mph…
Reinhold_Weege
Instructor

Thanks for the reply... Having spent some time in mainland Europe, I will admit that I liked it more than expected. It was exciting to spot American vehicles which seemed so out-of-place, yet in a good way. Mostly I miss looking out over a long, broad hood (bonnet), eating up miles. It is an era that will never return; to which I return as much as possible. 

AdrianClarke
Detailer