cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Hagerty
Hagerty Employee

What makes good car design? An industry insider peels back the studio curtain | Hagerty Media

Hello there! My name is Adrian Clarke. I am a professional car designer, earning a degree in automotive design from Coventry University and a Masters in Vehicle Design from the Royal College of Art in London. While I was there, one of my tutors was J Mays. (He used to bring in doughnuts.)
https://www.hagerty.com/media/car-design/what-makes-good-car-design-an-industry-insider-peels-back-t...
118 REPLIES 118
AdrianClarke
Detailer

Funnily enough we wanted to remove all the badging apart from the model name. No engine size, no trim level, nothing. Just the badge, and the model name. That's it.
Marketing pitched an absolute fit.
leduced
Intermediate Driver

We bought a small import recently to use as a run around "Grocery Getter" and the first thing I did was take it to an auto upholstery shop to get rid of as much of the factory black interior as possible. The seat surfaces are now a medium blue paisley center surrounded with a matching blue herringbone pattern. I get a "WOW" from all who see it.
miata93
Intermediate Driver

Don't forget the vast choice of body styles:
1. Roller skate
2. Jellybean
Try to tell the make and model from 20 yards.
AdrianClarke
Detailer

I can't stand black wheels! 

leduced
Intermediate Driver

I'm with you on all the "black" stuff. Must be for lazy people who wash & maintain their cars like dirty sox. My Stand was special ordered with as little black as possible. A Martinezes report puts it as 1 of 136 and I'm proud of it. six trophies and one "Best in Class" so far.
Ranger240
New Driver

It's too bad the writer didn't mention intentionally ugly cars that get branded as "bold" designs.
The lexus black widow butt grill or especially the "bold" 2 door BMW droopy snout oversized kidney grill nonsense come to mind.