cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Hagerty
Hagerty Employee

What makes good car design? An industry insider peels back the studio curtain | Hagerty Media

Hello there! My name is Adrian Clarke. I am a professional car designer, earning a degree in automotive design from Coventry University and a Masters in Vehicle Design from the Royal College of Art in London. While I was there, one of my tutors was J Mays. (He used to bring in doughnuts.)
https://www.hagerty.com/media/car-design/what-makes-good-car-design-an-industry-insider-peels-back-t...
118 REPLIES 118
RussBrasher
Pit Crew

My wife and I just ordered a Macan. What do y’all think - is that within acceptable parameters of good design? Can *any* SUV be OK? Am I at least redeemed by also owning a 928?
BMD4800
Instructor

You gonna take it down black bear, or just to the slopes in January?

It all depends on what you want. The opinions of others is nothing more than a cacophony from the disaffected self-indulgent. Drive what you want.
Truthworldwide
Intermediate Driver

In my opinion, being a 928's caretaker puts you on the high road to sainthood. You are doing the Lord's work sir. Keep it up and enjoy the new Macan.
AdrianClarke
Detailer

Well, one of my colleagues in the studio had a Macan so... 😉

Absolutely SUVs can look fantastic - pick up trucks too. I have a HUGE soft spot for the original Grand Wagoneer and the GMT400 family. 

One of our surfacing managers had a late 928 manual on Cup wheels in white. 

ChiefSki
New Driver

Three words. “Body by Fisher”. . . . . . ah, yes those were the days. — Chief Ski
BMD4800
Instructor

“ So, a great design will … make its owner feel good about purchasing it.”

And that’s it in a nutshell. Emotional gratification.

Buy something to make you feel good about yourself and impress others.

Instead of-buy what you want, what works best for you and your situation, and enjoy it.

In my head I could hear my Grandfather’s voice. Wise man.