cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Hagerty
Hagerty Employee

What makes good car design? An industry insider peels back the studio curtain | Hagerty Media

Hello there! My name is Adrian Clarke. I am a professional car designer, earning a degree in automotive design from Coventry University and a Masters in Vehicle Design from the Royal College of Art in London. While I was there, one of my tutors was J Mays. (He used to bring in doughnuts.)
https://www.hagerty.com/media/car-design/what-makes-good-car-design-an-industry-insider-peels-back-t...
116 REPLIES 116
hyperv6
Gearhead

What makes for good design is a design that you just see but you feel in your head and heart.

A well designed model gets in you head and makes you emotional. I don't say this in some crazy art way by just how I feel when I see a well styled car.

My favorite all time styled car is a Ferrari Lusso 250 SWB. I would pay money to just wash one let alone drive one. To look at it stirs me inside.

Few cars today can do that. Most are slaves to aero and to budgets that just don't let stylist express their true ideas anymore. Also many stylist have gotten stale and lazy just copying others.

Like a good song you feel it and with a great styles car you feel it when you see it. Lets face it a Taurus just had a good personality.
The other issue today is the SUV/CUV and small cars do not lend themselves to being a great styled model. Sometimes you need more canvas to have a great work of art expressed. The Last Supper is much more impressive on the wall vs a small print.

I feel for the great designers today as ergonomics and Aero has really made it difficult to be original and expressive.

As for the poor designers try harder.
chrlsful
Instructor

I say "don't copy" (another "try harder") so join w/U in all U say. I just add that the "feeling in the heart" is effected by those parameters I listed above (history, culture, family choices, etc).
hyperv6
Gearhead