cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Hagerty
Hagerty Employee

Vision Thing: Getting a concept made (or not)

Hello there! My name is Adrian Clarke. I am a professional car designer, earning a degree in automotive design from Coventry University and a Masters in Vehicle Design from the Royal College of Art in London. I worked for several years at a major European OEM.
https://www.hagerty.com/media/opinion/vision-thing/vision-thing-getting-a-concept-made-or-not/
9 REPLIES 9
CitationMan
Gearhead

To your point, it would appear that convertible versions of certain cars would be the path of least resistance for an additional model built on the same platform and in the same plant, and yet these versions don’t get produced. In addition to the GT86, I always thought it was odd that there was never an official Dodge Challenger convertible. Or the opposite, no real Miata hardtop coupe.
AdrianClarke
Instructor

Yeah, those are both no brainers and I'm surprised they never happened. There's easily room for it in the Challenger package. Mazda would say they have the MX5 RF (which I think in the UK is the better selling variant), but you're still compromising trunk space with that. A proper hard top coupe would give a lot more practicality. I had an NC for three years and although the trunk space is okay, it was a struggle to get a standard carry on suitcase in through the opening.
Swamibob
Technician

Looking at the drawings, pictures etc, of the various vehicles in this article; I see one glaring reason they probably wouldn't sell well. Most of them, with the exception of the 510 and possibly the white convertible, are just not very good looking. (I didn't want to go full negative and call them butt ugly, 'cuz that would just be mean.) The Prowler was ok, but it needed a V8, not a **bleep** little V6. That and better colors and some better looking than the appendages that served as bumpers. The rest are just yuk.
AdrianClarke
Instructor