cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Use this formula to determine the best engine

Comparing engines is a little difficult once you get past peak horsepower and torque numbers, since there is a multitude of factors to consider. If only there were a tidy way to compare the efficiency and power potential of different engines. Well, Engineering Explained posted a video explaining precisely that formula.

Read the full article on Hagerty.com: https://www.hagerty.com/media/maintenance-and-tech/use-this-formula-to-determine-the-best-engine/

Replies (11)

Replies (11)

As an engineer I found his explanation interesting.  It would have been nice if he had quickly included the conversion factor for torque from foot-pounds to Newton-meters (1.3558).  He included the BMEP on the new Corvette engine but didn't include the Ford Coyote engine, which has a BMEP of 14.31.  So if the regular Mustang GT engine has a BMEP of 14.2 and the Coyote is 14.31, is the additional cost worth it?  His evaluation comes down to producing the maximum amount of torque in the smallest volume of displacement.  Probably why the Porsche boxer engine has a good number.

Passenger

I was never great in math class 😭

He had me right up to the point he converted to metric 😩

Pit Crew

Yes, by minute 2.56 I determined that the Bentley V8 is the right engine for me.

Navigator

did not even try to watch video. not worth 16 minutes of streaming video to ascertain basic ideas. If there is a formula, then there is an exact solution for all variables. Just the premise of assuming an explosion (almost instataneous event) versus combustion (occurs over time depending on many factors) renders any exact formula suspect.

Passenger