cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Hagerty
Hagerty Employee

Smithology: Who ever saw a refrigerator as pack animal? | Hagerty Media

The internal-combustion engine is remarkable. An alloy box converts a small dose of fuel into a relatively large quantity of work, and for a relatively long time, with relatively little maintenance.
https://www.hagerty.com/media/opinion/smithology/smithology-who-ever-saw-a-refrigerator-as-pack-anim...
23 REPLIES 23
Swamibob
Instructor

Wonderful article Sam.

Just between us, I talk to machines all the time. 🙂 I've been a machinist and builder for many years. It's been my experience; that if you listen and pay attention, most machines will tell you what's going on. Some are more Cherubic than others, some downright stubborn or demanding, but when you listen, you can often make magic.
On more than one occasion I walked into work and was told; one of the thread grinders was acting up. It didn't want to keep tolerance on threads that were measured in the tenths and hundredths. That's four and five places to the right of the decimal point now. In an hour or so, I would have the machine cranking out parts at a prodigious rate, right on the numbers, with nearly no scrap. Just by listening to what the machine was telling me. Thus surprising my co-workers and making the boss very happy.
Over a lot of years I met a number of other shop guys who also understood what I was talking about. We'd tell stories of guys who thought we were nuts and didn't understand. All of us would smile and try to explain, no preaching, just facts and real figures. Some would scoff and say; "It can't be done like that; the machines can't do that, or the manufacturers say "that won't work". Sometimes, generally with younger guys, who were curious and wanted to learn, they would listen and they'd begin to pick it up. Much like we did from those who taught us. Just passing the torch, down the road.