cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Smithology: I have questions.

There has been much stewing of late. Necessary thinking, or at least thinking that feels necessary. Years ago, when I worked as a parts guy at a Jaguar dealer in Chicago, my friend Frank MacNaught had a phrase for moments like this. Frank was the dealership’s parts chief, a man who could list, from memory and in chronological order, the 12 superceded part numbers for the driveshafts of the American-market Jaguar X-Type. He tended to verbally summarize complex situations as he met them, a sort of knee-jerk sitrep. Common behavior in parts guys. Whenever world news grew particularly high-volume or concerning, Frank would put his hands in his pockets, lean back against the counter, and eye a shelf of oil filters as if it had insulted his mother.

“Stuff,” he would say, with no small amount of gravity, “is happening on the rock.”

I was young and perhaps more than occasionally a doofus, so I once asked if those words had some deeper meaning or symbolism. He shook his head, chuckling.

“Aw, no. Just a good distraction, helps me think.”

Read the full article on Hagerty.com:

https://www.hagerty.com/media/opinion/smithology-i-have-questions/

Replies (16)

Replies (16)

"Frank did not like customers".  I worked in the car business for 40 years.  There were always Franks working at the dealership, they worked there for years and they always got away with not liking customers.  Let me be frank, some days I just wanted to be Frank.  

New Driver