cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Hagerty Employee

My dreams are haunted by the bones of a Triumph GT6+

A few years ago, I wrote a piece about a 1970 Triumph GT6+ that I bought in the summer of ’76, just after I graduated high school—how it was the first and easily the worst car I’ve ever owned, and how the rust, metal fatigue, and electrical issues (headlights dying at night and wipers dying in the rain) verified that everything bad you’ve ever heard about British cars is true. The experience was so negative that it waved me off British cars for 37 years, until I bought a dead ’74 Lotus Europa Twin Cam Special in 2013, a decision for which I still have no defense.

Read the full column on Hagerty.com:

https://www.hagerty.com/media/opinion/my-dreams-are-haunted-by-the-bones-of-a-triumph-gt6/

22 REPLIES 22
Pit Crew

Betcha it is your old car. Mk2, bent bumper bracket, NoHo... It has to be!

Not that any further action should be taken, but what a cool find. 

New Driver

It's interesting to research the value curve of our cars, they drop drastically the first years than slowly continue their gradual descent to a point determined by their innate desirability, after some time they appreciate in value depending upon several factors such as that type of car having  appeared in movies or their success in vintage road racing, etc. The collector auctions show us that any restored car will be able to find a buyer, the question is how much money and energy will be required to bring a vehicle to it's best.

Navigator

Someone needs to do some research, as the information presented in this article about model names, rear suspension configurations, and the "VIN stamped into the frame" is well separated from reality!

Navigator