cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

My dreams are haunted by the bones of a Triumph GT6+

A few years ago, I wrote a piece about a 1970 Triumph GT6+ that I bought in the summer of ’76, just after I graduated high school—how it was the first and easily the worst car I’ve ever owned, and how the rust, metal fatigue, and electrical issues (headlights dying at night and wipers dying in the rain) verified that everything bad you’ve ever heard about British cars is true. The experience was so negative that it waved me off British cars for 37 years, until I bought a dead ’74 Lotus Europa Twin Cam Special in 2013, a decision for which I still have no defense.

Read the full column on Hagerty.com:

https://www.hagerty.com/media/opinion/my-dreams-are-haunted-by-the-bones-of-a-triumph-gt6/

Replies (19)

Replies (19)

Very cool story. I would not be surprised if that is your frame. 
In 1976 when I got my driver’s license one of the first cars I looked at while shopping for my first car was a British Racing green TR6. It was already rusty even though it was only three years old so I walked away.  Over the next decade I looked at two others, but they weren’t quite right so I didn’t buy either one. 
The first car I ended up buying was a 1973 Mercury Capri with a 2600 cc V6 and a 4 speed, a fun car. I owned the Capri until I bought a new 1981 Mazda RX7.

Yes, I too often have dreams about the Capri. The dreams are always about the same, I either get the car out of storage or stumble across it somewhere and get it running again, often to spectacular results.