cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to take sweet car photos on your phone

If I had a nickel every time I heard, “The best camera is the one you have with you,” I’d have enough money to retire from photography completely. Despite the overuse, the old adage rings true, especially with the advent of the camera phone. Digital cameras can be overwhelming. With expensive lenses, complex settings, and convoluted importing processes, sometimes it’s much easier to pull out your phone and tap away.

Read the full article Hagerty.com:

https://www.hagerty.com/media/advice/how-to-take-sweet-car-photos-on-your-phone/

Replies (9)

Replies (9)

As a former professional photographer, I have three pieces of advice... 

The first, which SHOULD be obvious, is to hold the camera HORIZONTALLY. 

Cars are neither people or five-story buildings. Look at the car ads on Craigslist and see how common this mistake is. 

Second, lens focal-length DOES make a difference. Wide-angle can distort perspective while longer lenses can flatten it, (a GOOD thing for most exterior shots.) Wide-angle lenses are most useful for car interiors and engines. 

Finally, a cloudy, overcast day gives the BEST, most even and soft lighting. 

Just try to keep the sky itself out of the picture, (have a background of trees, an attractive building, etc.) 

P.S.- DIGITAL zooming lowers resolution; OPTICAL does not. 

Pit Crew

Thanks for a great article. Lots of good to great stuff. You mentioned some editing device toward the end..."Snap????". Doesn't the iPhone 11 have a similar app? In fact I would say the iPhone has more apps than you will ever need. IMO. Thanks again. 

Passenger

got a decent shot with an ancient iphone se of a 1600gt that was then mangled into a certain level of drama with pixelmator pro.

http://photos.spriggs.net/archives/001745.html

Passenger