cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Hagerty
Hagerty Employee

How Buick's Fireball V-6 birthed one of the most successful engines in history | Hagerty Media

Search the internet for "greatest engines of all time," and you'll turn up the usual suspects: Chevy small-block, VW flat-four, Porsche flat-six, street Hemi. Aside from three years on Ward's 10 Best Engines list, the Buick V-6 never makes the leaderboard, but it should.
https://www.hagerty.com/media/automotive-history/how-buicks-fireball-v-6-birthed-one-of-the-most-suc...
42 REPLIES 42
CFH
Pit Crew

I really enjoy these stories about the history of automobile development. I think that it is important to understand the evolution of things to gain an appreciation for those things. And I also enjoy Redline Rebuild and DIY for education I receive in automotive technology. Thank you.
RICKS-GARAGE
New Driver

I have been building Buick V6 engines since 1970. I ran one in a dirt IMCA modified. I had one in a Olds Starfire that had the IMSA body panels from GM. I am now working on the 215 from a Oldsmobile F85 for a show car.
Tinkering with these engines, most of them were the odd-fire, led me to discover how to smooth out the odd-fire engine by modifying the timing chain and removing the tensioner. The dirt car would run 7500 rpm all day long. I was told by a Buick executive that they build the 198 first then made the aluminum V8 afterwords. The 215 was not build in the same plant as the V6, nor did it share any parts, in fact the block bolt pattern on the 215's is unique, no other bellhousing will bolt to it. They used a "slim-jim" transmission that was also unique. It had a dual clutch configuration that would later be used on the road course Porsche's, then later went in full production. Rick
Spuds
Advanced Driver

led me to discover how to smooth out the odd-fire engine by modifying the timing chain and removing the tensioner.
=======================