cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Hagerty
Hagerty Employee

Hemi: How Chrysler drew a dome and forged a dynasty | Hagerty Media

Hemi is the Greek word for half. That makes a hemisphere exactly half of a perfectly round bubble. Unfortunately, the engineers who created Chrysler's 1951 FirePower V-8 didn't need that much bubble. In lieu of a full hemisphere, they capped each cylinder with a spherical shape whose height is significantly less than half its diameter.
https://www.hagerty.com/media/magazine-features/hemi-chrysler-drew-dome-forged-dynasty/
23 REPLIES 23
MickHannickle
Intermediate Driver

As a mechanical engineer I applaud you for an outstanding article Mr. Sherman! The detailed and technical descriptions, particularly of the original engine design, aided by the high quality images reminds me of the sorts of articles I'd read in print magazines of three decades ago. If memory serves, your writing contributed to the automotive media of that era also. I'm happy to have rediscovered you.

Stepwilk
Pit Crew

Best Hemi article I've ever read, great graphics, too. And leave it to Dyno Don to note the Grumman connection.
Tinkerah
Technician

Nice thorough, easy-to-read article. Just some minor questions from a novice enthusiast: My understanding of the magic behind hemispherical chamber design has been the significant increase in flow by aiming the valves away from the cylinder walls. Have I been misled or should it have been mentioned? Also wouldn't a flat chamber offer the minimum possible surface area no matter the chamber volume?
RichH
Detailer

I wondered about that minimum surface area comment too. I'm not an engineer and wonder if there is any relationship between surface area and volumetric efficiency.....
Well this sure clears that up 🙂
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Surface-area-to-volume_ratio
JackVan
Intermediate Driver