cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Hagerty Employee

Avoidable Contact #80: Nile Rodgers, me, and about 247 other optimists

Nile Rodgers, they say, has sold over 100 million records. I don’t doubt it—from 1977’s Chic to 2013’s “Get Lucky” with Daft Punk to a 2020 selection of collaborations with current Queen frontman Adam Lambert, his music has been omnipresent in the American background. You don’t have to be interested in R&B or hip-hop to know his work; remember that earworm song that went “The Looooooooooove Shack“? He produced it, along with work for Mick Jagger, Duran Duran, and Spike Lee. As a recreational guitarist, I can attest that 99 percent of his actual playing is trivially easy to recreate but virtually impossible to imagine having existed without him, as opposed to the average heavy-metal or rock record, which simply consists of scales played really, really fast.

Last week, Mr. Rodgers told his social-media followers that he was selling off much of his vehicle collection, via an impromptu video where he strolled through an underground garage. Much of the response centered around the ultra-desirable iron showcased in the second half—is that a light blue metallic Berlinetta Boxer I see?—but the first car shown by Nile, and the first one to sell, was a lightly-customized yellow 1997 Range Rover 4.6 HSE Vitesse. If you didn’t recognize it as such, I don’t blame you. The Vitesse was a one-year-only model with a total production of 250 across just two colors. I recognized it immediately, however … and with a bit of a shudder ...

Read the full column on Hagerty.com:

https://www.hagerty.com/media/opinion/avoidable-contact-80-nile-rodgers-me-and-about-247-other-optim...

8 REPLIES 8
Pit Crew

Ah, the infamous P38 Vitesse. Fascinating article. I, too, have thought that it was a rather transparent attempt to pander to the Black hip-hop crowd.