cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Hagerty
Hagerty Employee

According to you: 10 of the most underrated tools

Last month I asked members of the Hagerty Community which was the most underrated tool in their collection. The answers covered the entire spectrum of automotive repair, so the ten examples listed here may not necessarily be suited for your particular project.
https://www.hagerty.com/media/lists/according-to-you-10-of-the-most-underrated-tools/
146 REPLIES 146
gary21sn
Intermediate Driver

All very basic Shop 101. Article is for someone that's never turned a wrench.
hanzonn
New Driver

I’ve been turning wrenches for 50+ years and found the article very useful. Never too old to learn....

MattK
Advanced Driver

A little more 101 anything these days would be helpful to a generation (not all) that doesn't know how to do anything but play video games.
DT
Instructor

If you all ready know it all why waste your time with a snippy reply for some that don't ???
Joee383
Intermediate Driver

Google/YouTube!
PJducatisti
Pit Crew

Great selection of tools, esp the magnet on a wand. A light on a headband has helped immeasurably, too. Have not yet used a torch, but BB Blaster is a wonder.
In the past, I fabricated a couple of tools for my R5 to enable me to do "factory" chores.
Lastly, special thanks to the semi-circle tool for loosening the flanged exhaust port ring to remove the header pipe.
JRJones
Detailer

One of the most consistently used tools is my 1hp pedestal mounted grinder, although it does not have a grinding wheel, One side is a 10" SS wire brush, and the other side has a 2" X 36" abrasive belt and sanding disc. Versatile and effective.
jmilesbayer
New Driver

WOW! I can't believe no one mentioned the muffler bearing tool, the cringe flange tool and the left-handed sprocket wrench...or maybe I'm just old.
MarineBob
Intermediate Driver

Can't find MAPP gas any more. NO longer available
1985Porsche
New Driver