cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Hagerty
Hagerty Employee

5 essentials that allow your classic to sleep peacefully when the snow falls

Melissa Jones writes: I'm new to old cars. Is there anything special you do to prepare a car for winter storage? Yes. How much or how little you do depends on the length of the layover and how thorough you want to be.
https://www.hagerty.com/media/maintenance-and-tech/5-essentials-that-allow-your-classic-to-sleep-pea...
71 REPLIES 71
audiobycarmine
Technician

All great advice, Rob.

With fuel, I'd mention filling with the highest octane available. Adding Chevron's Techron can't hurt, even though it's not a stabilizer per se. It can do wonders with fuel lines, carburetors and injectors.

One other thing — Folks, please don't ever use "glue traps". They're incredibly cruel, resulting in a prolonged and terrifying death, frequently accompanied by self mutilation and even amputations.
Truthworldwide
Advanced Driver

Seconded on both counts. Use a Top Tier brand with Sta-Bil for the best results and easiest restarts (Top Tier retailers from Consumer Reports are 76, Aloha Petroleum, Amoco, ARCO, Beacon, BP, Breakaway, Break Time, Cenex, Chevron, CITGO, Conoco, Costco, CountryMark, Diamond Shamrock, Entec, Esso, Express Mart, Exxon, Fast Fuel, HFN, Hele, Holiday, Kwik Star, Irving, Kirkland Signature, Kwik Star, Kwik Trip, Marathon, Metro Petro, MFA, Mobil, Ohana Fuels, Phillips 66, PUMA, QT, Quik Trip, Road Ranger, Shamrock, Shell, Sinclair, Sunoco, SuperAmerica, SuperFuels, Texaco, Valero, Value America, Wow, and Win Win.)

Secondly, *never* use a glue trap. I'm amazed they're still sold, honestly. Use a proper neck break trap and size it appropriately for the animals you need to eliminate. They're only trying to be what they are, the glue is a particularly inhumane way to protect your vehicle.
Rider79
Technician